top of page

Meet Our Team

Our dedicated team brings passion, expertise, and commitment to driving the organizational mission forward. With their guidance and strategic vision, we're shaping a better future to continue growing hte organization. Discover the inspiring individuals leading the charge towards positive change.

Meet Our Board

SEFC Board President
2023 - 2025
David Weiss, MD
UVA Health

Dr. David Weiss is a board-certified orthopaedic surgeon. Dr. Weiss directs the Orthopaedic Trauma Division at UVA. Dr. David Weiss is a board-certified orthopaedic surgeon. His research interests include fractures of the proximal and distal tibia.

Board Member; Planning Committee Advisor
Scott Broderick, MD
Spartanburg Regional

Dr. Scott Broderick is an orthopaedic traumatologist who specializes in the care of patients with severe musculoskeletal injuries and fractures, as well as fractures with complications such as malunions and nonunions. He is an associate professor at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine and adjunct assistant professor at Clemson University.

Senior Member
Shepard Hurwitz, MD

Dr. Hurwitz has been on numerous AAOS and AOA committees as well as committees for the ORS, OTA and AOFAS. He was a past president of the Eastern Orthopaedic Association, SEFC, and the Executive Director of the ABOS (2007-2016).

Jason Jeffrey
Board Member; Planning Committee Co-Chair
Jason Halvorsen, MD
Atrium Health -
Wake Forest Baptist

Dr. Jason Halvorson is a program chair for the 2024 and 2025 Southeastern Fracture Symposiums. He is an orthopaedic trauma surgeon at Atrium Health - Wake Forest Baptist. He treats fractures, trauma, non-unions, pelvic and acetabular surgery, and fracture management. 

Lisa Cannada_edited.jpg
SEFC Board Vice President
2023 - 2025 Research Co-Chair
Lisa Cannada, MD
Novant Health

Dr. Lisa Cannada is an orthopaedic trauma surgeon, mentor, and advocate for women pursuing careers in orthopedics or trauma surgery. She is also the co-founder of Speak Up Ortho, an initiative to increase awareness of bias, inequities, and harassment within orthopaedic surgery.

Lawrence Xavier Webb_edited.jpg
Senior Member
Larry Webb, MD
Atrium Health
Wake Forest Baptist

Dr. Larry Webb is a co-founder of the Southeastern Fracture Consortium Foundation. He is an orthopedist in Winston Salem, North Carolina and has been in practice for more than 20 years.

Board Member
Michael Tucker, MD
Prisma Health Richland

Dr. Michael Tucker is an orthopedic trauma surgeon. He currently serves as the Medical Director of Orthopedic Trauma at Prisma Health Richland Hospital.  He is also a Clinical Associate Professor of Orthopedic Surgery at the University of South Carolina School of Medicine. His top areas of expertise are Hip Replacement and Gastrostomy. 

Board Member; Planning Committee Co-Chair
Andrew Chen, MD
UNC Orthopaedics

Dr. Andrew Chen is a program chair for the 2025 and 2026 Southeastern Fracture Symposiums. He is an orthopaedic trauma surgeon at UNC Orthopaedics. Dr. Chen also obtained a Masters of Public Health in Clinical Research from Johns Hopkins University. 

Board Member, Research Co-Chair
Joseph Hsu, MD
Atrium Health

Joseph R. Hsu, MD is an orthopaedic surgeon who specializes in limb lengthening, deformity correction, osseointegration, and trauma. He is the Vice Chair of Quality of Atrium Health's Musculoskeletal Institute, Professor of orthopaedic trauma and Director of the limb lengthening and deformity program. 

Bill Obremskey_edited_edited_edited.jpg
Board Member
William Obremskey, MD
Vanderbilt Health

Dr. William Obremskey is an orthopedic surgeon and professor with Vanderbilt Health. Dr. Obremskey's research interests are in high-quality, well-designed, clinical outcome projects. Vanderbilt has become the lead center and is participating in several international and national multi-center research endeavors.

Russell Norris Pic_edited_edited_edited.
Board Member
Russell Norris, MD
ECU Health

Dr. Russell Norris is a board-certified orthopaedic surgeon practicing in North Carolina for ECU Health. He has been involved with the Southeastern Fracture Consortium for many years, most recently serving as the Planning Chair for SEFS 2024.

bottom of page